Skip Navigation
  • Robocall Hotline:(844)-8-NO-ROBO
  • All Other Complaints:(877)-5-NO-SCAM
  • Outside NC:919-716-6000
  • En Español:919-716-0058

Two Triad-area Individuals Honored with Attorney General Josh Stein’s Dogwood Award

Release date: 11/20/2018

RALEIGH) Attorney General Josh Stein today announced that High Point Police Chief Kenneth Shultz and Guilford County EMS’s Jim Albright received the Attorney General’s Dogwood Award. These awards are given annually to honor North Carolinians who are dedicated to keeping people safe, healthy, and happy in their communities.

“Chief Shultz is a leader when it comes to 21st Century policing,” said Attorney General Josh Stein. “He’s innovative and engaged in his community. I’m proud to continue to fight alongside him as we work to confront the opioid epidemic.”Kenneth Shultz is the Chief of Police of the High Point Police Department, a position he has held since 2016. Chief Shultz has been a leader in the fight against the opioid crisis in the Triad area, implementing drug take back days and joining the Attorney General’s task force to examine overdoses and prevent heroin-related overdose deaths. He was also a leading advocate for the HOPE Act, which became law earlier this year and gives law enforcement more tools to combat the opioid epidemic.

“Far too many lives are being taken by the opioid crisis,” said Attorney General Josh Stein. “But thanks to people like Jim Albright, we’re saving more and more through the miracle drug naloxone. In fact, in each of two last years, we saved more people than we lost. I applaud Jim’s work to help save lives and help get more people treatment from the terrible disease of addiction.”

Jim Albright is the Director of the Guilford County Emergency Services. He helped develop the Guilford County Solution to the Opioid Problem program (GCSTOP), a collaborative initiative between Guilford County law enforcement, EMS, medical and mental health professionals, and UNC-Greensboro. The program seeks to develop a treatment plan involving all stakeholders to give people struggling with addiction a comprehensive approach to treatment and recovery.

A full list of 2018 Dogwood Award Recipients is below:

  • Jim Albright, Director, Guilford County Emergency Services, Greensboro
  • Asa Buck, Carteret County Sheriff, Beaufort
  • Mike Cannon, co-founder of JCANS, Wilson
  • Becky Cannon, co-founder of JCANS, Wilson
  • J.H Corpening, Chief District Court Judge, 5th Judicial District, Wilmington
  • Debbie Dalton, founder of The Hunter Dalton #HDLife Foundation, Cornelius
  • Bill Hollingsed, Chief of Police, Waynesville Police Department, Waynesville
  • Monika Johnson Hostler, Executive Director, North Carolina Coalition Against Sexual Assault, Raleigh
  • William Lassiter, Deputy Commissioner of Juvenile Justice, North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Raleigh
  • Bradley Letts, Superior Court Judge, 30B Judicial District, North Carolina Superior Court, Waynesville
  • Spencer Merriweather, District Attorney, Mecklenburg County, Charlotte
  • Kenneth Shultz, Chief of Police, High Point Police Department, High Point
  • John Somerindyke, Lieutenant, Fayetteville Police Department, Fayetteville
  • Kurtis Stewart, Board Chair of the New Bern Area of Improvement, New Bern/Durham
  • Nicole Sullivan, Director, Reentry, Programs and Services, North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Raleigh
  • Meade Horton Van Pelt, Executive Director, The Harrelson Center, Wilmington

Laura Brewer (919) 716-6484

Comments are closed.