Skip Navigation
  • Robocall Hotline:(844)-8-NO-ROBO
  • All Other Complaints:(877)-5-NO-SCAM
  • Outside NC:919-716-6000
  • En Español:919-716-0058

Jacksonville Police Chief Honored with Attorney General Josh Stein’s Dogwood Award

For Immediate Release:
Tuesday, November 26, 2019

(RALEIGH) Attorney General Josh Stein today announced that Jacksonville Police Chief Mike Yaniero has received the Attorney General’s Dogwood Award. These awards are given annually to honor North Carolinians who are dedicated to keeping people safe, healthy, and happy in their communities.

“Chief Yaniero has been a great partner in our work to confront the opioid epidemic,” said Attorney General Josh Stein. “I appreciate his leadership and the work he’s done to bring smart prevention, treatment, and enforcement strategies to Jacksonville. I look forward to our continued work together.”

A former President of the North Carolina Association of Chiefs of Police (NCACP), Chief Mike Yaniero has served as Jacksonville’s Chief of Police since 2004 and was named the city’s first Director of Public Safety in 2012. Chief Yaniero has been a law enforcement officer for over 35 years.

“I am humbled by this award, however the award is more about our community which has been united to address the opioid issues in our community,” said Chief Yaniero. “I would like to thank our Mayor and Council for all their support. In addition to the Attorney General who provided the resources and guidance to our community with his initiatives like the tool kit and the Law Enforcement Task Force.”

A full list of 2019 Dogwood Award Recipients is below:

  • Wanda Boone, Together for Resilient Youth, Durham
  • Mark Bowling, Vidant Health, Greenville
  • Tom Brewer, President, Professional Fire Fighters and Paramedics Association of North Carolina, Charlotte
  • Danny Britt, Columbus and Robeson County
  • Mandy Cohen, North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Raleigh
  • Casey Cooper, Chief Executive Officer, Cherokee Indian Hospital, Cherokee
  • Chief Cerelyn “CJ” Davis, Durham Police Department
  • Molly Diggins, State Director, Sierra Club, Raleigh
  • Officer D.K. Evans, School Resource Officer, Greensboro Police Department
  • Randy Evans, Founder and Director, Walking Tall Wilmington
  • Dennis Gaddy, Founder and Executive Director, Community Success Initiative, Raleigh
  • Chief Gina Hawkins, Fayetteville Police Department
  • Sheriff John Ingram, Brunswick County
  • Luka Kinard, Student/Speaker on Dangers of E-cigarettes, High Point
  • Sheriff Alan Norman, Cleveland County
  • Dennis Riddell, Alamance County
  • Mayor Bob Scott, Franklin
  • Chief Wayne Scott, Greensboro Police Department
  • Mayor Patrick Taylor, Highlands
  • Chief Catrina Thompson, Winston-Salem Police Department
  • Don Waddell, General Manager, Carolina Hurricanes, Raleigh
  • Chief Mike Yaniero, Jacksonville Police Department

Laura Brewer (919) 716-6484


Comments are closed.