Skip Navigation
  • Robocall Hotline:(844)-8-NO-ROBO
  • All Other Complaints:(877)-5-NO-SCAM
  • Outside NC:919-716-6000
  • En Español:919-716-0058

Greenville Physician Honored with Attorney General Josh Stein’s Dogwood Award

For Immediate Release:
Tuesday, November 26, 2019

RALEIGH) Attorney General Josh Stein today announced that Dr. Mark Bowling has received the Attorney General’s Dogwood Award. These awards are given annually to honor North Carolinians who are dedicated to keeping people safe, healthy, and happy in their communities.

“Dr. Mark Bowling is doing important work in eastern North Carolina to warn people about the dangers of e-cigarettes,” said Attorney General Josh Stein. “I am increasingly concerned about the dangers these devices pose for people – especially young people. It is critical that the medical community speak out to prevent addiction and other diseases. I thank Dr. Bowling for his work.”

Dr. Mark Bowling is an interventional pulmonologist at East Carolina University’s Brody school of Medicine and Vidant Medical Center, where he has recently spoken out about the harmful effects of vaping and e-cigarettes he’s seen in his practice. Dr. Bowling graduated from East Carolina University’s Brody School of Medicine and has been a fellow at Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center.

“I am very honored to be considered for this award, but the recognition really belongs to the combined efforts of East Carolina University’s Brody School of Medicine, Vidant Health, and the news media of Eastern North Carolina in their relentless effort to get this important information to our community,” said Dr. Mark Bowling. “Thank you!!”

A full list of 2019 Dogwood Award Recipients is below:

  • Wanda Boone, Together for Resilient Youth, Durham
  • Mark Bowling, East Carolina University’s Brody School of Medicine and Vidant Health, Greenville
  • Tom Brewer, President, Professional Fire Fighters and Paramedics Association of North Carolina, Charlotte
  • Danny Britt, Columbus and Robeson County
  • Mandy Cohen, North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Raleigh
  • Casey Cooper, Chief Executive Officer, Cherokee Indian Hospital, Cherokee
  • Chief Cerelyn “CJ” Davis, Durham Police Department
  • Molly Diggins, State Director, Sierra Club, Raleigh
  • Officer D.K. Evans, School Resource Officer, Greensboro Police Department
  • Randy Evans, Founder and Director, Walking Tall Wilmington
  • Dennis Gaddy, Founder and Executive Director, Community Success Initiative, Raleigh
  • Chief Gina Hawkins, Fayetteville Police Department
  • Sheriff John Ingram, Brunswick County
  • Luka Kinard, Student/Speaker on Dangers of E-cigarettes, High Point
  • Sheriff Alan Norman, Cleveland County
  • Dennis Riddell, Alamance County
  • Mayor Bob Scott, Franklin
  • Chief Wayne Scott, Greensboro Police Department
  • Mayor Patrick Taylor, Highlands
  • Chief Catrina Thompson, Winston-Salem Police Department
  • Don Waddell, General Manager, Carolina Hurricanes, Raleigh
  • Chief Mike Yaniero, Jacksonville Police Department

Laura Brewer (919) 716-6484


Comments are closed.