Skip Navigation
  • Robocall Hotline:(844)-8-NO-ROBO
  • All Other Complaints:(877)-5-NO-SCAM
  • Outside NC:919-716-6000
  • En Español:919-716-0058

Carteret County Sheriff, New Bern Volunteer Honored with Attorney General Josh Stein’s Dogwood Award

Release date: 11/20/2018

(RALEIGH) Attorney General Josh Stein today announced that Carteret County Sheriff Asa Buck and New Bern Area of Improvement Board Chairman Kurtis Stewart have received the Attorney General’s Dogwood Award. These awards are given annually to honor North Carolinians who are dedicated to keeping people safe, healthy, and happy in their communities.

“Sheriff Buck has been a great partner in our work to confront the opioid epidemic,” said Attorney General Josh Stein. “He’s been a leader on my Law Enforcement Task Force. I’ve also appreciated his partnership as we work to help Carteret County rebuild after Hurricane Florence. I look forward to our continued work together to promote public safety.”

Sheriff Buck is currently serving his third term as Sheriff of Carteret County, a position he has held since 2006. Sheriff Buck has helped lead efforts to address the opioid epidemic and provide resources to individuals struggling with addiction. He was a key advocate of the HOPE Act, which became law earlier this year and provides additional resources to law enforcement confronting the crisis in their communities. He helped lead recovery efforts and enforcement support for residents after Hurricane Florence. He has also previously served as president of the North Carolina Sheriffs’ Association.Kurtis Stewart is chairman of the New Bern Area of Improvement and currently oversees the Jasper G. Hayes Omega Center in New Bern. The facility has after school programs, community programs, and special events.

“I’ve come to know Kurtis Stewart in the aftermath of Hurricane Florence,” said Attorney General Josh Stein. “He is committed to bringing people together to help New Bern recover from this storm, and I’m grateful for his work.”

A full list of 2018 Dogwood Award Recipients is below:

  • Jim Albright, Director, Guilford County Emergency Services, Greensboro
  • Asa Buck, Carteret County Sheriff, Beaufort
  • Mike Cannon, co-founder of JCANS, Wilson
  • Becky Cannon, co-founder of JCANS, Wilson
  • J.H Corpening, Chief District Court Judge, 5th Judicial District, Wilmington
  • Debbie Dalton, founder of The Hunter Dalton #HDLife Foundation, Cornelius
  • Bill Hollingsed, Chief of Police, Waynesville Police Department, Waynesville
  • Monika Johnson-Hostler, Executive Director, North Carolina Coalition Against Sexual Assault, Raleigh
  • William Lassiter, Deputy Commissioner of Juvenile Justice, North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Raleigh
  • Bradley Letts, Superior Court Judge, 30B Judicial District, North Carolina Superior Court, Waynesville
  • Spencer Merriweather, District Attorney, Mecklenburg County, Charlotte
  • Kenneth Shultz, Chief of Police, High Point Police Department, High Point
  • John Somerindyke, Lieutenant, Fayetteville Police Department, Fayetteville
  • Kurtis Stewart, Board Chair of the New Bern Area of Improvement, New Bern/Durham
  • Nicole Sullivan, Director, Reentry, Programs and Services, North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Raleigh
  • Meade Horton Van Pelt, Executive Director, The Harrelson Center, Wilmington

Laura Brewer (919) 716-6484

Comments are closed.