Skip Navigation
  • Robocall Hotline:(844)-8-NO-ROBO
  • All Other Complaints:(877)-5-NO-SCAM
  • Outside NC:919-716-6000
  • En Español:919-716-0058

Attorney General Josh Stein Honors 16 North Carolinians with 2018 Dogwood Award

Release date: 11/20/2018

(RALEIGH) Attorney General Josh Stein today awarded 16 North Carolinians with the Attorney General’s Dogwood Award. These awards are given annually to honor North Carolinians who are dedicated to keeping people safe, healthy, and happy in their communities. Each of today’s 16 recipients have been working to address issues that affect public and consumer safety, including sexual assault, opioids, criminal justice reform, and hurricane relief.

“All of this year’s honorees are doing vital work to protect and support their fellow North Carolinians and build stable, successful communities,” said Attorney General Josh Stein. “We are grateful for their contributions to North Carolina, and it is my privilege to recognize them with the Dogwood Awards.”

The following individuals are this year’s Dogwood Awards honorees:

  • Jim Albright, Director, Guilford County Emergency Services, Greensboro
  • Asa Buck, Carteret County Sheriff, Beaufort
  • Mike Cannon, co-founder of JCANS, Wilson
  • Becky Cannon, co-founder of JCANS, Wilson
  • J.H Corpening, Chief District Court Judge, 5th Judicial Circuit, Wilmington
  • Debbie Dalton, founder of The Hunter Dalton #HDLife Foundation, Cornelius
  • Bill Hollingsed, Chief of Police, Waynesville Police Department, Waynesville
  • Monika Johnson-Hostler, Executive Director, North Carolina Coalition Against Sexual Assault, Raleigh
  • William Lassiter, Deputy Commissioner of Juvenile Justice, NCDPS, Raleigh
  • Bradley Letts, Superior Court Judge, Eighth Division, North Carolina Superior Court, Waynesville
  • Spencer Merriweather, District Attorney, Mecklenburg County, Charlotte
  • Kenneth Shultz, Chief of Police, High Point Police Department, High Point
  • John Somerindyke, Lieutenant, Fayetteville Police Department, Fayetteville
  • Kurtis Stewart, Board Chair of the New Bern Area of Improvement, New Bern/Durham
  • Nicole Sullivan, Director – Reentry, Programs and Services, NCDPS, Raleigh
  • Meade Horton Van Pelt, Executive Director, The Harrelson Center, Wilmington

A video of today’s award ceremony can be found at

Laura Brewer (919) 716-6484

Comments are closed.